TEL. 866-349-2296 CONTACT REGISTER DONATE

Richard's headshot

richard kayaking    richard hiking through trees

Instructor
Degree in Recreation with an Emphasis on Outdoor Adventure Education
Wilderness First Responder
Leave No Trace Master Educator 
A pretty darn good DJ if you ask Chris Read

"If you want to lift yourself up, lift up someone else."

Where were you born and/or raised?
I was born and raised in a city called Sikeston, located in the boot heel of Missouri.

How long have you lived in Crested Butte?
I have lived in Crested Butte for 18,024 hours and 11 minutes; or roughly 2 years, 21 days, 5 hours, and 11 minutes.

Why did you choose to work with people with disabilities?
Years ago I had no clue that adaptive outdoor recreation existed. Almost out of college I was looking for my first real guiding job and stumbled upon an Adaptive program in Minnesota. There I discovered a passion for this field and have worked in it ever since.

How did you come to work with the ASC? How long have you been here?
I came to ASC for a winter internship following college. I enjoyed the winter at ASC so much that I interned again the following summer and have been involved in the program in varying capacities ever since. Making my time around the ASC roughly 2 years, 21 days, 5 hours, and 20 minutes. (Subject to change)

How long have you been skiing/snowboarding?
This season marks my 3rd as a skier. I would also like to learn how to snowboard this season.

What's your favorite restaurant in Crested Butte?
Ryce

What is your favorite ski resort?
The one and only Mt. Crested Butte.